Legal
  

The Law: How to legally home school in Alabama

Compulsory School Age
"between the ages of 7 and 17"

 

Alabama Legal Home Schooling Options:    

 
Option: 1
 
Option: 2
 
Legal Option:
 
Establish and/or enroll in a church school
 
Use a private tutor
 
Attendance:
 
None specified (175 days required for the public schools)
 
140 days per calendar year, 3 hours per day between the hours of 8am and 4pm
 
Subjects:
 
None
 
Reading, spelling, writing, arithmetic, English, geography, history of the United States, science, health, physical education, and Alabama history
 
Qualifications:
 
None
 
Teacher certification
 
Notice:
 
File a notice of enrollment and attendance with the local superintendent on a provided form (not required annually)
 
File a statement showing children to be instructed, the subjects taught and the period of instruction with the local superintendent
 
Recordkeeping:
 
Maintain a daily attendance register to be kept by the principal teacher of the church school
 
Maintain a register of the child's work showing daily attendance and make such reports as the State Board of Education may require
 
Testing:
 
None
 
None
 
For more information visit Home School Legal Defense at: http://www.hslda.org